Gluten-Free Candy Guide

Updated September, 2020
This product list was compiled by Celiac Kids Connection at Boston Children’s Hospital. It is intended only as a general information resource and is based on information provided by manufacturers. Individual product ingredients, recipes and formulas are subject to change without notice. Therefore, it is the responsibility of the reader to read product labels and determine if the product is gluten free or not. Celiac Kids Connection at Boston Children’s Hospital and its members do not endorse the use of these products or services or warrant them to be gluten free in anyway.

For your convenience, you can download and print the list.

Ce De Candy
  • From the Ce De "Our Candy" Page

    All Smarties® candy made by Smarties Candy Company is gluten‑free and safe for people with Celiac Disease.

    If the UPC number on the packaging begins with “0 11206”, you can be assured that the product is gluten‑free, manufactured in a facility that makes exclusively gluten‑free products and safe to eat for people with Celiac Disease.

Ferrara Candy Company


  • From emails dated 9/15/2020 & 9/18/2020

    Ferrara products contain only corn gluten. The following Ferrara products contain no wheat, rye, barley or oats. Here is a list of candies you can enjoy.

    • All Gummies (Black Forest, Ferrara, Sathers)
    • All Trolli Gummies EXCEPT Trolli Sour Brite Bites and Trolli Twisted Sour Brite Crawlers
    • All Jellies (Gum Drops, Orange Slices, etc)
    • Atomic Fireballs
    • Baby Ruth (Formerly a Nestle candy)
    • Berry Chewy Lemonhead
    • Bob's Sweet Stripes
    • Boston Baked Beans (contains peanuts)
    • Bottle Caps (Formerly a Nestle candy)
    • Brach’s Chocolates - Peanut Caramel Clusters, Stars, Chocolate Covered Raisins
    • Brach's Double Dipped Peanuts/Double Dippers (they are processed in a facility that processes wheat)
    • Brach’s Cinnamon Disks
    • Brach's Candy Corn - All Varieties
    • Brach's Cinnamon Imperials
    • Brach's Conversation Hearts
    • Brach's Halloween Mellowcremes - All Varieties (They are processed in a facility that processes wheat)
    • Brach's Jelly Bean Nougats (they are processed in a facility that processes wheat)
    • Brach's Lemon Drops (Kosher)
    • Brach's Wild 'N Fruity Gummi Worms
    • Butterfinger (Formerly a Nestle candy)
    • Butterfinger bites (Formerly a Nestle candy)
    • Candy Canes (Bob's, Brach's, Lemonhead & Friends, Red Hots)
    • Cherry Sours
    • Cherryhead
    • Chewy Lemonhead & Friends
    • Fruit Snacks (Ferrara, Black Forest, Trolli)
    • Fun Dip (Formerly a Nestle candy)
    • Goobers (Formerly a Nestle candy)
    • Grapehead
    • Gumballs
    • Jawbreakers / Jawbusters
    • Jelly Beans
    • Juju's
    • Jujy's
    • Laffy Taffy Mini Bars (Formerly a Nestle candy)
    • Laffy Taffy Rope (Formerly a Nestle candy)
    • Laffy Taffy Stretchy & Tangy (Formerly a Nestle candy)
    • Lemonheads
    • Lemonheads & Friends Conversation Hearts
    • Nerds (Formerly a Nestle candy)
    • Nerds Rope (Formerly a Nestle candy)
    • Now & Later
    • Oh Henry (Formerly a Nestle candy)
    • Pixy Stix (Formerly a Nestle candy)
    • Raisinets (Formerly a Nestle candy)
    • Red Hot's
    • Runts (Formerly a Nestle candy)
    • Sno-caps (Formerly a Nestle candy)
    • Spree Chewy (Formerly a Nestle candy)
    • Spree Hard Candy (Formerly a Nestle candy)
    • Sweet Tarts – mini chewy (Formerly a Nestle candy)
    • Sweet tarts – original (Formerly a Nestle candy)
    • Tropical Chewy Lemonhead

The Hershey Company | 800-468-1714

  • From the Hershey's Gluten-Free Page

    • Almond Joy - All EXCEPT Almond Joy Pieces Candy
    • Brookside Dark Chocolate Acai and Blueberry Flavors
    • Brookside Dark Chocolate Goji and Raspberry Flavors
    • Brookside Dark Chocolate Merlot Grape and Black Currant Flavors
    • Brookside Dark Chocolate Mango and Mangosteen Flavors
    • Brookside Dark Chocolate Pomegranate Flavor
    • Brookside Milk Chocolate Covered Almonds
    • Dagoba Products – ALL
    • Heath Bars – ALL
    • Hershey’s Milk Chocolate Bar (1.55 oz Only)
    • Hershey’s Milk Chocolate Bar with Almonds (1.45 oz only)
    • Hershey’s Special Dark Snack Bars
    • Hershey’s Hugs Candy
    • Hershey’s Kisses Milk Chocolate Filled with Caramel
    • Hershey’s Kisses Milk Chocolate Filled with Cherry Cordial Crème
    • Hershey’s Kisses Meltaway Milk Chocolates
    • Hershey’s Kisses Milk Chocolate
    • Hershey's Kisses Dark Chocolate-filled with Mint Truffle
    • Hershey’s Kisses Special Dark Mildly Sweet Chocolate
    • Hershey's Kisses - Candy Cane
    • Hershey's Kisses - Kiss Deluxe
    • Hershey's Kisses - Espresso
    • Hershey's Kisses Creamy Milk Chocolate
    • Hershey's Kisses Creamy Milk Chocolate with Almonds
    • Hershey's Giant Kiss (7 oz. only)
    • Hershey's Milk Chocolate Covered Almonds
    • Hershey’s Nuggets Milk Chocolates
    • Hershey’s Nuggets Milk Chocolate with Almonds
    • Hershey’s Nuggets Special Dark Chocolate with Almonds
    • Hershey’s Nuggets Extra Creamy Milk Chocolate with Toffee and Almonds
    • Hershey's Nuggets Special Dark Chocolate
    • Milk Duds – ALL
    • Mounds Bars - ALL
    • PAYDAY Candy – ALL (include PAYDAY snack bites)
    • Reese’s Fast Break Bar
    • Reese’s Nutrageous Bar (Standard & King)
    • Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups – All Except Seasonal Shaped Items
    • Reese's Unwrapped Mini Minis - Milk Chocolate and White
    • Reese’s Pieces Candy - All Except Reese’s Pieces Eggs
    • Reese's Pieces Peanut Butter Cups – All Except Seasonal Shaped Items
    • ROLO Creamy Caramels in Rich Chocolate Candies – all except ROLO minis
    • Scharffen Berger Products – ALL except Scharffen Berger cocoa powder
    • SKOR Toffee Bars - ALL
    • York Peppermint Pattie – All except York Pieces candy, Sugar Free Peppermint Pattie, York Minis, and York Shapes (5 oz.)

    JUST BORN, Inc.


    • From the FAQ Page

      We offer many gluten-free products under the MIKE AND IKE®, HOT TAMALES® , PEEPS®, GOLDENBERG’S® , PEANUT CHEWS®, TEENEE BEANEE® and JUST BORN® brands and we are in the process of updating package labels to include gluten-free statements where appropriate.  The modified food starch that we use in our candies is corn starch.

      However, because some of our products may be manufactured and/or packaged in a facility that may also handle non gluten-free products, we encourage consumers to read the labels carefully for the most up-to-date ingredient and allergen information.

      Mars Candy
      • From an e-mail dated 9/14/2020

        All U.S. Wrigley products are labeled in accordance with applicable laws and FDA regulations, including the Food Allergen Labeling and Consumer Protection Act of 2004.  Any food materials identified as allergens within this Act (milk, eggs, fish, crustacean shellfish, tree nuts, peanuts, wheat, and soybeans) are labeled within the ingredient statement, when present in our products.

        The FDA allows voluntary labeling of “gluten-free” for foods that inherently do not contain gluten or contain less than 20 parts per million (ppm) of gluten sourced from wheat, rye, barley, and crossbreeds of these grains. Our products listed below have been tested to comply with the FDA’s definition of gluten-free and are labeled as “gluten-free” on the package:
        • Skittles® Bite Size Candies
        • Starburst® Fruit Chews
        • Starburst® Gummi Bursts® Original and Sour Flavors

        Our products listed below contain ingredient(s) derived from wheat or are made on shared equipment that also processes products with wheat and thus may contain gluten.  These products are labeled accordingly as containing wheat within the ingredient statement:

        • 5® gum Cool Mint Vortex, Smooth Mint Nexus, Cool Berry Beta flavors only in 8 sticks packs (contains wheat which is listed in the ingredient statement)
          • Altoids® Smalls® Peppermint Mints (contains wheat maltodextrin which is listed in the ingredient statement)
          • Lucas® and Skwinkles® Branded Candy Strips (contains wheat flour and wheat fiber which are listed in the ingredient statements)

        The rest of our products have not been tested to be labeled as “gluten-free”.

        Added by Celiac Kids Connections For reference the Mars brands you are most familiar with are M&M, Snickers, Dove, Milky Way, Skittles and 3 Musketeers. NOT all of these products will be gluten-free. Please check the labels.

        Necco Candy

        • Please see the information listed for the Spangler Candy Company. Necco Candy is now part of the Spangler.


        • In 2018, Nestle sold their candy division to Ferrara. See our Ferrara listing for this information.

        Spangler Candy Company
        • From an email dated 9/15/2020

          These Spangler Candy products are free of the gluten associated with Celiac disease

          • Dum Dum
          • Saf-T-Pops
          • Necco Wafers
          • Candy Canes
          • Flavor Fusion Pops
          • Bunny Pops
          • Heart Pops
          • Circus Peanuts
          • Sweet Heart Conversation Hearts

        Tootsie Roll Industries

        Tootsie Roll Industries

        • From the Tootsie FAQ Page

          At this time all of our confections are gluten-free. We do not sue wheat, barley, rye, oats, triticale, spelt or any of their components and that includes our dusting on our conveyor belts. We do  use corn and soy products in the manufacturing of our products.

          • Andes
          • Candy Blox
          • Candy Carnival
          • Caramel Apple Pops
          • Cella Cherries
          • Charleston Chew
          • Charms
          • Child’s Play
          • Cry Baby
          • Dots
          • Dubble Bubble
          • Fluffy Stuff
          • Frooties
          • Fruit Chews
          • Fruit Chews Pops
          • Junior Mints
          • Nik-L-Nip
          • Razzles
          • Sugar Babies
          • Sugar Daddy
          • Tootsie Pops
          • Tootsie Roll
          • Tootsie Roll Mini Bites
          • Tootsie Roll Bunch Pop
          • Wack-O-Wax



          • Wrigley is a division of Mars. Please see the information listed from M&M Mars.

            12 Comments on “Gluten-Free Candy Guide”

              1. Michael – You are correct. Mars does provide a list of GF items nor does it mark its products as GF. Their advice is to read the ingredients list to determine if the product is GF

              1. We do not have that information. On the Cadbury website they have the following statement “All of our gluten absent products are individually labelled on the Products page”. That said, if you look at the product page for dairy milk you see a may contains wheat statement. I did not see any products that had a specific gluten-free claim. Sorry we do not have more information.

            1. The Great Value brand gummy worms say that they are gluten free, but does anyone know if they are processed in a facility that processes other products containing gluten? Asking because of celiacs disease.

              1. Questions like this are best directed to the company itself. I found this number for the Great Value hotline 877-505-2267. When you call, it is important to be specific about what you mean when you say “processed in a facility that also processes gluten”. Food can be produced in the same facility and be in different areas of very large facilities so far apart that there is absolutely no possibility of cross contact. Therefore, simply knowing there is gluten in the facility does not provide you sufficient information to evaluate if there is a risk of cross contact with a product.

            Leave a Reply

            Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

            This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.