Reading a Food Label


Karen Warman, MS, RD, LDN

Download this article

Share this Article

Look for the following words within the ingredients list and the “contains” statement” to determine whether gluten has been added to the food or beverage.

  • Wheat
  • Barley
    • Malt (extract)
    • Malt (flavoring)
    • Brown rice syrup (unless stated gluten-free)
    • Beer
    • Ale
    • Malt beverages
  • Rye
  •  Oats (unless stated gluten-free)
  • Brewers yeast (not all yeast, this is a nutrition supplement)
    • Yeast extract (unless labeled gluten-free
    • Autolyzed yeast extract (unless labeled gluten-free)
  •  

    Note: Although natural flavorings can be hidden sources of gluten, it is rare that the natural flavoring is from a gluten-containing grain.  Even more rare if the flavoring agent is not labeled as malt flavoring

    Excerpted from Going Gluten Free, created by Karen Warman, MS, RD, LDN.  Registered dietititan Boston Children's Hospital.