Gluten-Free Drugs

Gluten-Free is not simply about the foods that we eat. You need to ensure any medication that your child takes, both prescription and over the counter, are free from gluten containing ingredients.

Share this Article

One way to determine a medication’s gluten-free status is to call the manufacturer. You can also ask the pharmacist for the medicine insert from the manufacturer which lists the ingredients in a medication.

Another way to find out if is gluten free or not is through the site. This site is managed by a pharmacist who takes great care to provide this information to the gluten-free community.

If your doctor or insurance plan prefers generic drugs to name brand drugs, you will need to find the manufacturer’s name for the generic drug to check the gluten-free status. If a medication contains gluten it is most often in the inactive ingredients and those ingredients are not necessarily the same in brand name drugs and their generic counterparts.

Go to