Candy Guide

Updated October, 2019
This product list was compiled by Celiac Kids Connection at Boston Children’s Hospital. It is intended only as a general information resource and is based on information provided by manufacturers. Individual product ingredients, recipes and formulas are subject to change without notice. Therefore, it is the responsibility of the reader to read product labels and determine if the product is gluten free or not. Celiac Kids Connection at Boston Children’s Hospital and its members do not endorse the use of these products or services or warrant them to be gluten free in anyway.

For your convenience, you can download and print this list.


Ce De Candy
  • All Smarties® candy made by Smarties Candy Company is gluten‑free and safe for people with Celiac Disease.

    If the UPC number on the packaging begins with “0 11206”, you can be assured that the product is gluten‑free, manufactured in a facility that makes exclusively gluten‑free products and safe to eat for people with Celiac Disease.


Ferrara Candy Company

800-323-1768   http://www.ferrarausa.com

  • Ferrara products contain only corn gluten. The following Ferrara products contain no wheat, rye, barley or oats. Here is a list of candies you can enjoy.

    • All Gummies (Black Forest, Ferrara, Sathers)
    • All Trolli Gummies EXCEPT Trolli Sour Brite Bites and Trolli Twisted Sour Brite Crawlers
    • All Jellies (Gum Drops, Orange Slices, etc)
    • Atomic Fireballs
    • Baby Ruth (Formerly a Nestle candy)
    • Berry Chewy Lemonhead
    • Bob's Sweet Stripes
    • Boston Baked Beans (contains peanuts)
    • Bottle Caps (Formerly a Nestle candy)
    • Brach’s Chocolates - Peanut Caramel Clusters, Stars, Chocolate Covered Raisins
    • Brach's Double Dipped Peanuts/Double Dippers (they are processed in a facility that processes wheat)
    • Brach’s Cinnamon Disks
    • Brach's Candy Corn - All Varieties
    • Brach's Cinnamon Imperials  (They are processed in a facility that processes wheat)
    • Brach's Conversation Hearts
    • Brach's Halloween Mellowcremes - All Varieties (They are processed in a facility that processes wheat)
    • Brach's Jelly Bean Nougats (they are processed in a facility that processes wheat)
    • Brach's Lemon Drops (Kosher)
    • Brach's Wild 'N Fruity Gummi Worms
    • Butterfinger (Formerly a Nestle candy)
    • Butterfinger bites (Formerly a Nestle candy)
    • Butterfinger peanut butter cups (Formerly a Nestle candy)
    • Candy Canes (Bob's, Brach's, Lemonhead & Friends, Red Hots)
    • Cherry Sours
    • Cherryhead
    • Chewy Lemonhead & Friends
    • Fruit Snacks (Ferrara, Black Forest, Trolli)
    • Fun Dip (Formerly a Nestle candy)
    • Goobers (Formerly a Nestle candy)
    • Grapehead
    • Gumballs
    • Jawbreakers / Jawbusters
    • Jelly Beans
    • Juju's
    • Jujy's
    • Laffy Taffy Mini Bars (Formerly a Nestle candy)
    • Laffy Taffy Rope (Formerly a Nestle candy)
    • Laffy Taffy Stretchy & Tangy (Formerly a Nestle candy)
    • Lemonheads
    • Lemonheads & Friends Conversation Hearts
    • Nerds (Formerly a Nestle candy)
    • Nerds Rope (Formerly a Nestle candy)
    • Now & Later
    • Oh Henry (Formerly a Nestle candy)
    • Pixy Stix (Formerly a Nestle candy)
    • Raisinets (Formerly a Nestle candy)
    • Red Hot's
    • Runts (Formerly a Nestle candy)
    • Sno-caps (Formerly a Nestle candy)
    • Spree Chewy (Formerly a Nestle candy)
    • Spree Hard Candy (Formerly a Nestle candy)
    • Sweet Tarts – mini chewy (Formerly a Nestle candy)
    • Sweet tarts – original (Formerly a Nestle candy)
    • Tropical Chewy Lemonhead


The Hershey Company

www.thehersheycompany.com | 800-468-1714

    • Almond Joy - All EXCEPT Almond Joy Pieces Candy
    • Brookside Dark Chocolate Fruit & Nut Bar Cherry with Pomegranate Flavor and Other Natural Flavors
    • Brookside Dark Chocolate Fruit & Nut Bar Cranberry with Blackberry Flavor and other Natural Flavors
    • Brookside Dark Chocolate Fruit & Nut Bar Blueberry with Acai Flavor and Other Natural Flavors
    • Brookside Dark Chocolate Acai and Blueberry Flavors
    • Brookside Dark Chocolate Chardonnay Grape and Peach Flavors
    • Brookside Dark Chocolate Goji and Raspberry Flavors
    • Brookside Dark Chocolate Merlot Grape and Black Currant Flavors
    • Brookside Dark Chocolate Mango and Mangosteen Flavors
    • Brookside Dark Chocolate Pomegranate Flavor
    • Brookside Milk Chocolate Covered Almonds
    • Dagoba Products – ALL
    • Heath Bars – ALL
    • Hershey’s Milk Chocolate Bar (1.55 oz Only)
    • Hershey’s Milk Chocolate Bar with Almonds (1.45 oz only)
    • Hershey’s Special Dark Snack Bars
    • Hershey’sHugs Candy
    • Hershey’s Kisses Milk Chocolate Filled with Caramel
    • Hershey’sKisses Milk Chocolate Filled with Cherry Cordial Crème
    • Hershey’s Kisses Meltaway Milk Chocolates
    • Hershey’s Kisses Milk Chocolate
    • Hershey’s Kisses Special Dark Mildly Sweet Chocolate
    • Hershey's Kisses - Candy Cane
    • Hershey's Kisses - Kiss Deluxe
    • Hershey's Kisses - Espresso
    • Hershey's Kisses Creamy Milk Chocolate
    • Hershey's Kisses Creamy Milk Chocolate with Almonds
    • Hershey's Giant Kiss (7 oz. only)
    • Hershey’s Nuggets Milk Chocolates
    • Hershey’s Nuggets Milk Chocolate with Almonds
    • Hershey’s Nuggets Special Dark Chocolate with Almonds
    • Hershey’s Nuggets Extra Creamy Milk Chocolate with Toffee and Almonds
    • Hershey's Nuggets Special Dark Chocolate
    • Milk Duds – ALL
    • Mounds Bars - ALL
    • PAYDAY Candy – ALL
    • Popwell – ALL
    • Reese’s Fast Break Bar
    • Reese’s Nutrageous Bar
    • Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups – All Except Seasonal Shaped Items
    • Reese's Unwrapped Mini Minis - Milk Chocolate and White
    • Reese’s Pieces Candy - All Except Reese’s Pieces Eggs
    • Reese's Pieces Peanut Butter Cups – All Except Seasonal Shaped Items
    • ROLO Caramels in Milk Chocolate Candies – all except ROLO minis
    • Scharffen Berger Products – ALL except Scharffen Berger cocoa powder
    • SKOR Toffee Bars - ALL
    • York Peppermint Pattie – All except York Pieces candy, Sugar Free Peppermint Pattie, York Minis, and York Shapes (5 oz.)


JUST BORN, Inc.

888-645-3453
www.justborn.com

  • From the FAQ Page

    We offer many gluten-free products under the MIKE AND IKE®, HOT TAMALES® , PEEPS®, GOLDENBERG’S® , PEANUT CHEWS®, TEENEE BEANEE® and JUST BORN® brands and we are in the process of updating package labels to include gluten-free statements where appropriate.  The modified food starch that we use in our candies is corn starch.

    However, because some of our products may be manufactured and/or packaged in a facility that may also handle non gluten-free products, we encourage consumers to read the labels carefully for the most up-to-date ingredient and allergen information.


    Mars Candy

    800-627-7852      www.mms.com/us/legal/allergen.html

    • From an e-mail dated 9/27/2019

      The ingredient statement on each wrapper is the best source for this (Gluten-free) information. The Food Allergy & Anaphylaxis Network advises consumers to rely on ingredient labels, not lists that can become outdated when products change.

      We encourage all consumers to contact us at 1-800-627-7852 if they have any specific product questions.

      Added by Celiac Kids Connections For reference the Mars brands you are most familiar with are M&M, Snickers, Dove, Milky Way, Skittles and 3 Musketeers. NOT all of these products will be gluten-free. Please check the labels.


      Necco Candy

      • Necco Wafer, Sweethearts (the original conversation heart), and Canada Mints were sold to the Spangler Candy Company. They plan to return the Necco Wafer to the market in the fall of 2019. The Spangler website lists Necco Wafers as gluten-free.


      Nestle

      800-225-2270

      • In 2018, Nestle sold their candy division to Ferrara. See our Ferrara listing for this information.


      Spangler Candy Company
      • These Spangler Candy products are gluten-free

        • Dum Dum
        • Saf-T-Pops
        • Circus Peanuts
        • Candy Canes


      Tootsie Roll Industries

      Tootsie Roll Industries
      773-838-3400
      www.tootsie.com

      • At this time all of our confections are gluten-free. We do not sue wheat, barley, rye, oats, triticale, spelt or any of their components and that includes our dusting on our conveyor belts. We do  use corn and soy products in the manufacturing of our products.

        • Andes
        • Candy Blox
        • Candy Carnival
        • Caramel Apple Pops
        • Cella Cherries
        • Charleston Chew
        • Charms
        • Child’s Play
        • Cry Baby
        • Dots
        • Dubble Bubble
        • Fluffy Stuff
        • Frooties
        • Fruit Chews
        • Fruit Chews Pops
        • Junior Mints
        • Nik-L-Nip
        • Razzles
        • Sugar Babies
        • Sugar Daddy
        • Tootsie Pops
        • Tootsie Roll
        • Tootsie Roll Mini Bites
        • Tootsie Roll Bunch Pop
        • Wack-O-Wax


        Wrigley

        1-800–Wrigley

        • Wrigley is a division of Mars. Please see the information listed from M&M Mars.


          5 Comments on “Candy Guide”

            1. Michael – You are correct. Mars does provide a list of GF items nor does it mark its products as GF. Their advice is to read the ingredients list to determine if the product is GF

          Leave a Reply to June Christian Cancel reply

          Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

          This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.